the strength, the marrow of Nature

“My temple is the swamp… When I would recreate myself, I seek the darkest wood, the thickest and most impenetrable and to the citizen, most dismal, swamp. I enter a swamp as a sacred place, a sanctum sanctorum… I seemed to have reached a new world, so wild a place… far away from human society. What’s the need of visiting far-off mountains and bogs, if a half-hour’s walk will carry me into such wildness and novelty.” – Thoreau

For Thoreau, the swamp is “the strength, the marrow of Nature.” Even at the worst of times, a swamp cure could also be prescribed:

When life looks sandy and barren, is reduced to its lowest terms, we have no appetite, and it has no flavor, then let me visit such a swamp as this, deep and impenetrable, where the earth quakes for a rod around you at every step, with its open water where swallows skim and twitter…

the strength, the marrow of Nature

One thought on “the strength, the marrow of Nature

Leave a Reply

